Home > Random > Why I Will Never Shop at Overstock.com Again

Why I Will Never Shop at Overstock.com Again


Three weeks ago I wanted to buy a present for my beautiful wife for having carried our recently born baby girl, she did it magnificently for over 9 months and I thought that a small token would be the least I can do to show my appreciation for bringing an amazing present into our lives.

I looked online and found a pair of very nice white-gold earrings that I had hoped she will like on Overstock.com,  a site I had heard good things about and thought is a reputable brand that I could trust. The fact that they had online chat on their site bolstered that feeling as I’m a LivePerson employee I can now recognize and appreciate the value of live chat on a retail site. Overstock is not a LivePerson customer by the way (perhaps that should have tipped me off).

I have ordered the earrings on December 23rd, 2011 and of course I knew they will take some time to arrive, after all it was just before Christmas but that was fine with me, I had hoped they will arrive a few days after the new year.

After they did not arrive for a while I looked at the confirmation email I received and used the tracking link they provided, this took me to the DHL tracking site which very “usefully” told me it couldn’t find the details for the tracking number. I thought to myself, alright, I will try in a few more days, surely it will appear soon.

So I have waited some more and still nothing, so a few days ago I contacted Overstock through their online chat. They kindly told me to wait 7 days (!) longer before contacting them again if the earrings hadn’t arrived by then. So I’ve waited a few more days until yesterday when the DHL site still couldn’t find the tracking details. I had resolved to contact Overstock again today even though it wasn’t 7 days yet and demand some explanations. Luckily, this morning the package with the earrings arrived.

Oh joy! I thought to myself, finally, the earrings arrived and even before its time for my daughter to attend college. Gladly I opened the package and was very (very) surprised to find that they have sent me the wrong earrings, the ones I ordered were suppose to have a clear stone, what they sent were (disgusting) lime green!

So, I patiently waited for the overstock.com reps to come online today so I can demand they replace the earrings at once and hopefully give me some kind of compensation after such a terrible shopping experience.

This afternoon I started the chat and after apologizing the representative told me that all he could do for me is send me instructions on how to send the earrings back and receive a refund, if I wanted to actually receive the earrings I wanted I would need to order them again. When I told the rep that I was surprised they don’t offer any kind  of compensation he told me that they simply can’t offer anything to an international customer. So they can take orders from international customers but not compensate them when the blunder horribly.

So to summarize:

  • Ordered earrings 3 weeks ago
  • Paid a lot more for shipping costs because I’m an international customer
  • Waited for 3 weeks for earrings to arrive
  • While waiting had no proper information on when they will actually arrive (not sure whos fault that is, overstock or DHL)
  • Overstock when contacted couldn’t tell me more than wait for more days, 7 days!
  • When finally earrings arrived they were the wrong ones!
  • I need to ship them back and get a refund (that for some reason is 70 pence less than what I paid)
  • If I want the earrings I actually paid for I need to go through the whole process again

In short, I will never shop at overstock.com again, not because they’ve made a mistake with the product they sent, although that’s already infuriating but these things happen. It’s because their customer care is seriously lacking. The reps I chatted with were friendly and sympathetic enough but hardly went out of their way to help and as an international customer I feel I’ve been completely neglected by their customer care that apparently doesn’t value me the same as an American customer.

Throughout the overstock site and even the chat they refer to me as “Valued Customer” but its one thing to say it and quite another to actually mean and behave like you mean it! As far as im concerned, they have done the bare minimum and nothing more, this is not a brand I would like to have any more dealings with.

Just for comparison, a couple of weeks ago I returned a jar of Pesto sauce to Sainsbury’s  (UK Supermarket) that costs around 2 pounds because it went bad too quickly, not only did I receive my money back, I also received a 5 pound voucher! More than 200% compensation on top of the refund…

Very interestingly I just received an email asking me to fill in a survey to help Overstock advance their “worldclass customer care“. I think they need to advance quite a lot before they can call their service that. Dont worry, I will let them know!

Below is the full transcript from my last chat with overstock:

Cody: Hi, my name is Cody. How may I help you?

Valued Customer: hi

Cody: Hi there.

Valued Customer
: today i finally received the earrings ive ordered from you – order: ******** after 3 weeks!

Valued Customer: i was quite surprised to find that what i received is not what ive ordered

Cody: I’m sorry to hear that you have received wrong item. I apologize for the inconvenience caused.

Cody: For security purposes, could you please verify the full name and billing address, including the city, state and zip code?

Valued Customer
: sure
Valued Customer: its an int. order btw

Valued Customer: yoav  niran

Valued Customer: ****************

Valued Customer: uk

Cody: Okay, I’m a international representative.

Valued Customer: great

Cody: Since you have received a wrong item, I will help you with the return for a full refund and you will have to re-order the item to receive a correct item.Valued Customer: i have to say im very disappointed

Valued Customer: not only did i have to wait for this long to receive what i bought but now i have to do that all over again?Cody: I completely understand your concern, please accept my apologies for the inconvenience.

Valued Customer: how do you even send the wrong product, very unproffesional, i know its not your fault but it looks really bad

Cody:I will help you with the free return shipping label via email.

Cody: *to return the wrong item.

Cody:  Click here to view our International Return Policy
Cody: Shall I go ahead and setup the return on this item and provide you the return instructions through this chat?

Valued Customer: yes please

Valued Customer: im surprised you dont offer any kind of compensation after such a bad experience…

Cody: I understand that it is a very bad experience, but we do not have any option to issue compensation for the international orders.

Cody: What is the email address that you would like us to send the return instructions to?

Valued Customer: *****@gmail.com

Valued Customer: sorry, thats a very bad answer.

Cody: I have setup the return on the wrong item that you received for refund.Cody: We will email the return instructions to you at your email address ( ***@gmail.com ) used to register with us and you should receive it within 24 hours.

Valued Customer: so ive ordered from you, paid a lot more for shipping, waited 3 weeks, didnt get the product ive  ordered and you cant offer me anything? does that sound like it make any sense?

Cody: I agree to what you said. However we will not be able to offer a discount on the international orders. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused to you.

Cody: We will notify you via (****@gmail.com) email address with the details of your refund.

Cody: You will receive your refund via the form of payment that you used.

Cody: Are there any further questions for me?

Valued Customer: ok.

Valued Customer: no more questions.

Valued Customer: i can tell you that you have lost me as a customer forever though

Cody: I’m sorry to hear that, but you are always welcome to Overstock.com.

Cody: Thank you for contacting O.co, Overstock.com’s shortcut.

  1. January 16, 2012 at 01:05 | #1

    Hello Yoav,

    My name is Marc Haldin, and I work for the executive offices of Overstock.com. I would love to help you out with this issue. Unfortunately I am unable to locate your order with any of the inoformation above. If you could email your order number to social@overstock.com I would be more than happy to look into this for you.

    Regards,

    Marc Haldin
    Executive Offices
    Overstock.com

    • Yoav Niran
      January 17, 2012 at 10:19 | #2

      Sent an email to social@overstock.com yesterday morning (UK) but havent heard back yet…
      Yoav.

      • Yoav Niran
        January 19, 2012 at 10:12 | #3

        More progress to report… I have been contacted by the Overstock offices to apologize again and to notify me that they have requested the company that deals in the UK (FiftyOne) to offer me a “service gesture” of 20 pounds… I haven’t heard from FiftyOne yet by the way…

        If you ask me, if Overstock was really and sincerely ready to appease me they would have sent me the pair of earrings I ordered on their own volition using the fastest method available but obviously that didn’t happen.

        Interesting as well that it took a blog post that got some attention in order to make them “come around” on the compensation front…

        Yoav.

  2. David
    January 19, 2012 at 12:26 | #4

    Not great service. It sounds like their problem is around operations and until they sort that out they could have the best chat software in the world (LivePerson) and it would make little difference to the outcome you’d have got.
    Until they change their internal processes and policies and empower agents then not much could be changed from an agent level in terms of how they can help the customer.

  3. Yoav Niran
    January 24, 2012 at 16:00 | #5

    So to wrap things up. In the end I received the refund for the earrings (even before sending them back) and even received a 20 pounds compensation straight into my paypal account. I guess all’s well that ends well though I doubt I will be buying from Overstock again.

    Now the only thing left to do is find a nice pair of earrings for my wife… anyone knows a good place for that? :)

  4. Unknown
    April 5, 2012 at 03:00 | #6

    I used to work for them and when I did they used LivePerson, so they must have changed. We had reps that were always just NASTY to the customers, I never understood it. They like to hire people and then fire the nice ones (myself included) and keep the people that will argue with customers and not try to make things right.

    (No, I’m not bitter towards the company for letting me go, I found something MUCH better and less stressful. I’m just giving an honest opinion about how I saw people being treated by others while I was there. I couldn’t understand it.)

  5. pissed
    June 23, 2012 at 03:41 | #7

    Marc is entirely full of crap and thinks he’s a professional. He’s a professional excuse-maker for Overstock, maybe, but that’s about it. After an extended horror-story to do with buying from Overstock (all they do is arrange sales for other people — they don’t make anything, they don’t do their own buying, how hard can it be?), Marc gave me piles of excuses about why nothing could be done. I guess a U of Utah degree’s about the same as a high school degree locally, because the local UPS lady fixed her part of Overstock’s chronic fuckup pretty much by snapping her fingers, which is more than Marc could do after some arduous long time on the phone (and hanging up on me twice, after leaving me sit 20 minutes waiting to get to him in the first place).

    Never, never, never buy from Overstock. Unless you’re a lawyer looking for a target.

    Tags: Overstock bad reputation avoid reviews customer service Marc Haldin shipping terrible

  6. pissed
    June 23, 2012 at 03:56 | #8

    What I love, though, is that Marc has the nerve to complain about *other people* ripping him off. I’d pretty much call that turnabout’s fair play, Marc. Here he is complaining on some Forex trading board (I guess we know now why we’re not getting refunds; Marc’s throwing the money away on day trading).

    “Marc Haldin, Salt Lake City, UT
    Rating:
    Date of Post: 2010-08-22
    Review: FOREX Maximizer is a ripoff! It does not take trades! I have also asked Mr. Kevin long for my money back, as his guarantee states, over a dozen times and they just ignore me. Kevin Long is a scam artist! Avoid any product he is associated with like FOREX Shockwave It will also be a ripoff!”

    And here I always thought those “takes one to know one/set a thief etc.” things actually worked. Too bad there, Marc.

  7. September 2, 2012 at 16:43 | #9

    Good day I am so delighted I found your weblog, I really found you by error, while I was
    searching on Digg for something else, Nonetheless I am
    here now and would just like to say thanks a lot for a
    tremendous post and a all round thrilling blog (I also love
    the theme/design), I don’t have time to browse it all at the moment but
    I have bookmarked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the
    awesome jo.

  8. September 28, 2012 at 02:26 | #10

    This website was… how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I have found something
    which helped me. Thank you!

  9. j f
    October 17, 2012 at 19:16 | #11

    Well – after reading all this, I am seriously beginning to worry about the Panasonic BDT-220 blu-ray player (placed on 16th Oct) i ordered for my wife who is in india as of now

    i shop online a lot and have had more or less pretty good experiences with other sites. The order has switched to being shown as ‘shipped’ and is leaving their international facility on the 18th – so lets see.

    I really hope they don’t mess this up because my wife’s b’day present last year was late too (with another site) – and though she didn’t mind – she is beginning to think I ‘forget’ her b’day and make up these excuses – lol

    • Yoav Niran
      October 17, 2012 at 21:55 | #12

      Well good luck with that! :)

      Also, good luck with the gift choice… if i bought my wife a blu-ray player for her birthday id probably be in big trouble ;)

  10. Portia
    December 12, 2012 at 21:58 | #13

    It’s not because you aren’t an American customer that they neglect you, Overstocks representatives are like that to everyone. At this moment I’m pissed off at the shipping as well. I’ve spoken to two representatives and both have been liars on the shipping matter. I’m sure they train them to tell everyone that their package is in transit when they know very well that the post handler has not even received the item to mail out. It’s irritating and belittling. I will never shop there again, either. I would rather pay the extra cash to get my item on time. And I’m going to warn people away from that site. No wonder they offer free shipping or $2.95 shipping, as if to pacify us because it’s free after. Rudeness.

  11. Deacon
    January 3, 2013 at 20:21 | #14

    You sound like a crybaby. I love overstock.

    • Yoav Niran
      January 11, 2013 at 07:22 | #15

      thank you for your insightful comment!

    • ill
      January 23, 2013 at 05:51 | #16

      Overstock sucks they are doing this to so many people including me! just do a google search and you will see a flood of the same.

  12. April 6, 2013 at 20:07 | #17

    The main problem seems as if it is because of you location. I continually shop at overstock and I have repeatedly received my items as requested in a short amount of time. I believe they are a very cheap, well-constructed website. They’re only problem is delivery. I mean, honestly that’s the only thing people are whining about. They are a great website but I suppose in others eyes are not good with international delivery. They just haven’t expanded/grown in that area just yet.

    • Bobby
      April 11, 2013 at 19:10 | #18

      International shipping is painfully slow if the company is outsourcing it. Where I work, we do just that. If we get an order the day after pickup, they will be waiting an extra 2-3 weeks for the next pickup. I assume Overstock.com does the same thing.

      • Yoav Niran
        April 12, 2013 at 06:25 | #19

        good insight, thanks. no excuse for Overstock though…

  1. January 17, 2012 at 14:05 | #1

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 315 other followers

